Stories
Slash Boxes
Comments

All the Perl that's Practical to Extract and Report

use Perl Log In

Log In

[ Create a new account ]

Journal of nicholas (3034)

Saturday December 02, 2006
06:19 PM

poo.cow

[ #31788 ]

A while back I noted that someone is trying to re-launch boo.com

Well, prompted by something Tristan Louis sent to the ex-boo mailing list I did some digging to try to see what I could learn about the site. Not much:

whois records last updated on 26-Jun-2006:

Registrant:
Mooney, Sinead
   3 Merton Drive
   Ranelagh, Dublin 6
   IE

   Domain Name: BOO.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
      Mooney, Sinead            boosite@gmail.com
      3 Merton Drive
      Ranelagh, Dublin 6
      IE
      +86-827-1463

   Record expires on 17-Mar-2011.
   Record created on 17-Mar-1999.
   Database last updated on 2-Dec-2006 17:12:49 EST.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS1.WORLDNIC.COM             205.178.190.1
   NS2.WORLDNIC.COM             205.178.189.1

which others have noted is no-one famous, and living in a nice suburb of Dublin. DNS isn't much more interesting:

$ host boo.com
boo.com has address 205.178.145.234
boo.com mail is handled by 10 INBOUND.BOO.COM.NETSOLMAIL.NET.

and the network block doesn't give anything away:

InQuent Technologies Inc. INQUENT-2 (NET-205-178-128-0-1)
                                  205.178.128.0 - 205.178.191.255
Network Solutions, LLC NSLLC01 (NET-205-178-145-0-1)
                                  205.178.145.0 - 205.178.145.255

However, this time, the NMS formmail script that is supposed to sign you up works. Only, (as before, and I didn't report it) it turns out that it doesn't. Specifically, it's trying to send a e-mail from the address you give it to subscribe@boo.com. If I send a message from my e-mail client, this happens:

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

  subscribe@boo.com
    SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<subscribe@boo.com>:
    host INBOUND.BOO.COM.NETSOLMAIL.NET [205.178.149.7]:
    550 5.2.1 <subscribe@boo.com>... Mailbox disabled for this recipient

No design clue, and no technical clue either. I wonder what they do have going for them?

The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
 Full
 Abbreviated
 Hidden
More | Login | Reply
Loading... please wait.
  • I wonder what they do have going for them?

    A three letter domain name!!! It's all you need.

    Oh wait, that was 1998.
  • clkao [perl.org] observes that the +86 given in the contact phone number is China. Which isn't Ireland.

    • 086 is an Irish Mobile prefix.

      John.
      --

      • Ah, thanks. This makes a lot more sense, given the length of the number. It didn't appear to have enough digits to be viable for a country with a population as large as China's.