Slash Boxes
NOTE: use Perl; is on undef hiatus. You can read content, but you can't post it. More info will be forthcoming forthcomingly.

All the Perl that's Practical to Extract and Report

The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
More | Login | Reply
Loading... please wait.
  • The award goes to Simon Cozens (author) and Sebastian Riedel (maintainer till maypole 2.0.x). Funny thing is, lathos didn't liked what sri made outta maypole (which has recieved an award now) and sri started his own framework ( []), because he thought maypole is too limited to CRUD. The last perl-related award was the development award in 2003 for perl 5.8.0 IIRC, so heads up.
    • Maypole 2.09 is still in keeping with Simon Cozens goals, Sebastian made changes that were in keeping with Maypoles philosophy while maintainer but wanted to go in his own direction with or without maypole.

      Both Simon and Sebastien have been pretty sucessful with their projects, 'Sri' has succeded with Catalyst which has obviously drained some of the Talent from Maypole but Maypole development is continuing and it is improving and evolving.

      I think Maypole and Catalyst both have a lot of potential, Maypole

      @JAPH = qw(Hacker Perl Another Just);
      print reverse @JAPH;
    • No ... the award went to the Maypole module, not any specific version. In fact, I'd like to think that the award went to the whole Maypole community (with a little bit of glory rubbing off on the Catalyst people who helped get Maypole into the shape it is in). Either way, this is very good news for the greater Perl community, as a non-Perl specific technical magazine (who -- I believe -- are all big fans of Python) decides to give a software award to a Perl project.