Stories
Slash Boxes
Comments
NOTE: use Perl; is on undef hiatus. You can read content, but you can't post it. More info will be forthcoming forthcomingly.

All the Perl that's Practical to Extract and Report

The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
 Full
 Abbreviated
 Hidden
More | Login | Reply
Loading... please wait.
  • The "Image" is like your desktop. When you're done for the day, you hit "save", and then you "load" that image tomorrow when you start again.

    Every change you make is being charged against the current "project". You can manage projects with the desktop menus. Although all changes are being made to the one image, you traditionally make a project for each realm of interest that you're working on. (You can manage changes manually to say "no, that was really for project Y, not project X" as well.)

    When you're ready to share your work, you "fileout" a "project", and someone else can "filein" that project file to their image.

    From time to time, you'll want to "clean your desk". You fileout all your projects of interest, then start with a fresh image, and then file them all in, and that's your new desk. You'll also do that to keep your Squeak image in sync with the master images for updates.

    --
    • Randal L. Schwartz
    • Stonehenge