Slash Boxes
NOTE: use Perl; is on undef hiatus. You can read content, but you can't post it. More info will be forthcoming forthcomingly.

All the Perl that's Practical to Extract and Report

use Perl Log In

Log In

[ Create a new account ]

Journal of nicholas (3034)

Saturday December 02, 2006
05:19 PM


[ #31788 ]

A while back I noted that someone is trying to re-launch

Well, prompted by something Tristan Louis sent to the ex-boo mailing list I did some digging to try to see what I could learn about the site. Not much:

whois records last updated on 26-Jun-2006:

Mooney, Sinead
   3 Merton Drive
   Ranelagh, Dublin 6

   Domain Name: BOO.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
      Mooney, Sinead  
      3 Merton Drive
      Ranelagh, Dublin 6

   Record expires on 17-Mar-2011.
   Record created on 17-Mar-1999.
   Database last updated on 2-Dec-2006 17:12:49 EST.

   Domain servers in listed order:


which others have noted is no-one famous, and living in a nice suburb of Dublin. DNS isn't much more interesting:

$ host has address mail is handled by 10 INBOUND.BOO.COM.NETSOLMAIL.NET.

and the network block doesn't give anything away:

InQuent Technologies Inc. INQUENT-2 (NET-205-178-128-0-1)
Network Solutions, LLC NSLLC01 (NET-205-178-145-0-1)

However, this time, the NMS formmail script that is supposed to sign you up works. Only, (as before, and I didn't report it) it turns out that it doesn't. Specifically, it's trying to send a e-mail from the address you give it to If I send a message from my e-mail client, this happens:

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
    SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<>:
    550 5.2.1 <>... Mailbox disabled for this recipient

No design clue, and no technical clue either. I wonder what they do have going for them?

The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
More | Login | Reply
Loading... please wait.
  • I wonder what they do have going for them?

    A three letter domain name!!! It's all you need.

    Oh wait, that was 1998.
  • clkao [] observes that the +86 given in the contact phone number is China. Which isn't Ireland.

    • 086 is an Irish Mobile prefix.


      • Ah, thanks. This makes a lot more sense, given the length of the number. It didn't appear to have enough digits to be viable for a country with a population as large as China's.