Hacker, author, trainer
Technorati Profile [technorati.com]
It seems that some spammer bastard has decided that he will put invented addresses at dave.org.uk as the "Return-Path" and "From" headers in his spam. This means, of course, that I then get all of the undelivered email bounces. Which is a major pain.
So if you get spam that claims to be from dave.org.uk, it's not really me!
Same Thing... (Score:2, Funny)
-biz-
Re:Same Thing... (Score:2, Insightful)
Ilya Martynov (http://martynov.org/ [martynov.org])
Welcome to "I hate spammers" club (Score:1)
Ilya Martynov (http://martynov.org/ [martynov.org])
AOL... (Score:4, Funny)
Not as in "AOL is reponsible for this", AOL as in "<aol mode="on">me too!!!</aol>.
It caused me to take a real long look at the headers, decide that it was definitely not me spamming (besides, I do not know any naughty farmgirl banned in over 51 states) and that it probably came from some compuserve host in Canada.
Come to think about it, isn't Compuserve part of AOL these days? Then I guess I can blame it on AOL after all.
mirod
Reply to This
Re:AOL... (Score:2, Informative)
<aol> me too </aol> (Score:3, Informative)
I've been getting this for the past few days as well.
They appear to have taken CPAN user ids as well as the domain names to send farm girl spam. Somehow I doubt that (judging from some of the bounces) LDS, LBROCARD, etc, would have decided to root my mail server from their compuserve accounts, setup a mailbox and send this sort of email from it.
I could be wrong though ;-)
Reply to This