Stuff with the Perl Foundation. A couple of patches in the Perl core. A few CPAN modules. That about sums it up.
I received the following in my inbox:
From: FBI <womaqakup@*******.com>
To: Cp <cp@*******.com>
Reply-To: FBI <womaqakup@*******.com>
Sender: FBI <womaqakup@*******.com>
Subject: Cp... You are suspected in several crimes.
I idly wonder if it's illegal to misprepresent an email as being from a law enforcement agency, but aside from that, I can't help but wonder whether or not some poor fool out there was stupid enough to be frightened.
I've gotten this twice (Score:2)
I don't think they actually explicitly claim to be the FBI we all think of. Semantics, of course, but semantics are often the deciding factor.
As to the stupidity part, odds are there are at least a few. I do hope to have the time later tonight to do some screen-scraping of their basic URL with LWP. But I don't want to do it from work, for obvious reasons.
--rjray
Re:I've gotten this twice (Score:2)
Got it first today (Score:1)
Re:Got it first today (Score:1)
-DA [coder.com]
I got that too... (Score:3, Informative)
The link is funny. It brings up a page that says:
It sounds like it's a too elaborate scheme to sell hosting services. It's hard to believe that this kind of thing is profitable.
Reply to This
Re:I got that too... (Score:3, Informative)
The alledged "removed" site is actually what's being spamvertised.
i.e. people like you get curious, get a good laugh, think 0catch are good guys, and sign up with them.
0catch are the spammers here (alledgedly).
"Cunning as a fox who's just been appointed Professor of Cunning at Oxford University"
Re:I got that too... (Score:1)
I meant the whole thing, the Spam, the site message everything is part of this elaborate scheme.